For ROz

Candy Corn you can make yourself at home and a wee bit healthier!

Den 16 years ago
Those actually look really good! Question though...I thought margarine was made from vegetables to begin with...how is vegan different? And Cali, have you made this? Just curious if it tastes similar to the bagged stuff?
ROzbeans 16 years ago
OOOOOH. Well it's a little healthier for a vegan, but not a diabetic Thank you though!!! /hug
Vishanti 16 years ago
Those pictures remind me of making homemade Play-Doh... and eating it. I did that when I was in 1st grade. Didn't wait for any adults to come help, just read the instructions I found somewhere... but mixed up tsp and tbsp, so I used waaaaaaaaaay too much oil. Messy messy table.
FyreGarnett 16 years ago
vegan mean no animal products at all - butter is from milk, which is an animal product...

pretty neat! looks like it would be fun to make!
Den 16 years ago
margarine isn't butter
ROzbeans 16 years ago
Margarine is an alien by product.
Sabby 16 years ago
And most of it still has animal by products in it. Vegans are super strict about all animal things, not just your run-of-the-mill Vegetarian. I know many Vegetarians who still eat margarine, but I know of one Vegan who buys special Vegan products and one of them is margarine.
Den 16 years ago
All the ingredients I could find for margarine were vegetable oils, salt and water. I'm still not seeing how any animal products get in there.
Verileah 16 years ago
I'm also curious about this, I always thought the same as Shay.
ROzbeans 16 years ago
Aliens. O_o
Sarah 16 years ago
This is from Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margarine


Modern margarine can be made from any of a wide variety of animal or vegetable fats, and is often mixed with skimmed milk, salt, and emulsifiers. Margarine made from vegetable oils is especially important in today's market, as it provides a substitute for butter which is both vegan and pareve. Nearly all margarine is salted, which makes shortening (which contains no salt) a better choice for baking.

Three main types of margarine are common:

* Hard, generally uncolored margarine for cooking or baking. (Shortening)
* "Traditional" margarines for such uses as spreading on toast, which contain saturated fats are mostly made from vegetable oils.
* Margarines high in mono- or poly-unsaturated fats, which are made from safflower, sunflower, soybean, cottonseed, or olive oil, and which are said to be healthier than butter or other types of margarine.

Many popular table spreads today are blends of margarine and butter — something that was long illegal in countries including the United States and Australia — and are designed to combine the lower cost and easy-spreading of artificial butter with the taste of the real thing.
Calimaryn 16 years ago
Sorry it took me so long to get back to this!

Most margarines do contain dairy. Either in the form of whey, lactose, or sodium casiente. BUT several name brands are vegan. Just luck of the draw.

Personally I use Earth Balance margarine. It has the best taste, texture and substance of the vegan brands. (Spectrum is like snot! ewww) Plus I would rather support a company that is putting out deliberately vegan rather than accidentally.

Sorry ROz! I thought of you first I saw this though.

My goal is to try this recipe out this weekend. Maybe with friends over to help with the fun of kneading and rolling out the dough. Who wants to come to CT and make candy corn?!